Sweet Summertime

Summer is just around the corner! Or if you’re like me, you already consider it summer once the outside temperature hits above 70. After a LOOONG winter in Michigan, summer is a most welcome relief.

 
The season of summer has always been my favorite. I am happiest when I can see the sun and feel it’s warmth. As a child I remember spending my days outdoors – riding bikes, playing with my siblings & our cousins that lived on our street, giving our dog a bath in a kiddie pool, spending a day at Cedar Point, swimming in our grandparents’ pool, going on trips to the beach with my aunt, uncle, & cousins, and occasionally playing sports.

 
In recent years I haven’t been quite as active during the summer, but I’m hoping to turn that around this year. Last year at this time I was 8 months pregnant so I had that as an excuse! But this year I have an active baby running around and I want to make sure she is able to enjoy herself. I want to give her the opportunity to experience lush grass, a sandy beach, a swimming pool, the Great Lakes, and animals for the first time. Each day we are outside either walking or spending time sitting in the grass – both have become her favorite activities! Seriously, she does so much better when we go outside and do anything.

 
Awhile back I made a list of things that I’m looking forward to this summer. I’ve started making lists like these for each season so that I can learn to appreciate them more. I want to make sure that my family is living to our fullest potential even during our least favorite seasons!

 
Here is my compiled list so far – I hope to be able to continue adding to it!

 
+nature: flowers & trees in bloom, warm weather, sunshine, grass, birds, sand, water

+activities/places: Farmer’s Market, swinging in the park, picnics, garage/yard sales, going out for ice cream, swimming, beach days, traveling, sunbathing, walks, camping, bonfires, parties, bike rides, birthdays

+new/seasonal recipes & food: homemade potato salad, ice cream & popsicles, iced coffee & tea

+joys: having a baby run around in nothing but a diaper, riding in the car with the windows down, sharing a season of birth with my summer babe (my bday is in June & my daughter’s is in July), wearing dresses and light clothing, walking barefoot, lying in the grass, taking a nap at the beach

What is on your summer list?

Photo via Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Sweet Summertime

  1. Everything Home Life says:

    I love when the seasons change! Summer is wonderful and with kids, it’s the best season. Though when fall rolls around and then winter, I welcome them joyfully! Change is good! Our plan this summer is going hiking or walk down by the river every weekend as a family outing. 🙂

    Like

    • Ash W. says:

      I remember by the end of summer last year that I was definitely ready for the fall weather. I have a feeling that as I get older I will slowly transition to liking other seasons more and more.

      Those sound like some good activities with your family! My husband and I have yet to get into hiking. We also love going for walks near the river, or occasionally strolling around downtown.

      Like

Leave a Reply

