Simple Chilled Pasta Dish

With the weather being quite warm these days, the last thing I want to do is make a hot dinner. Unfortunately, getting take-out every night isn’t in our budget either, so most nights I reluctantly turn on the stove.

A few weeks ago I made some pasta for dinner and the next day we had leftover noodles in the fridge – that’s when I got creative.

I chopped up spinach, mushrooms, and red onion to add to the chilled noodles*.

Next, I added about a tablespoon of Olive Oil, mixed well, and served with grated Swiss cheese on top. Voila!

  

You can easily alter this recipe any way you’d like. For instance, instead of using Whole Wheat Capellini pasta like I did, you could use Spaghetti or Farfalle; you could add tomatoes or shrimp to the mixture; you could top with Feta cheese instead of Swiss. The possibilities are endless! That’s what I love about this recipe – it’s so versatile, simple, and delicious!

Enjoy!

*You can use leftover noodles from a previous pasta dinner, or boil & prepare noodles the day you plan to use them. For the recipe above, I used noodles that I cooked earlier in the day: after boiling and draining the pasta, I let it cool before covering with plastic wrap and placing in the fridge until I was ready to prepare dinner.

Leave a Reply

