Motherhood || Heartwarming Moments

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

“When a child gives you a gift, even if it is a rock they just picked up, exude gratitude. It might be the only thing they have to give, and they have chosen to give it to you.”

I recently came across this quote while perusing Pinterest and it started me thinking.

My daughter has entered the sharing phase. It is one of the cutest and sweetest things that I have witnessed so far in her development. The way she holds out her arm to give us a toy or a book is so gentle and tender. We always reply with a joyful, “thank you!” When playing alongside other babies she offers items in the same fashion. It warms my heart to watch her understand the concept of sharing with others – so sweet and friendly, and devoid of any hesitation, resistance, or judgement.

Though she has little to share with us at this point in time, it is enough. In the future she will draw and paint pictures, tell stories, give gifts, and hopefully open up her beautiful heart to those she can confide in. We will also cherish those moments when their time comes. I’m sure I’ll bawl the first time she says “mom” or “I love you,” or comes home from school with a drawing of our family in her hand, or confides in me about times she was hurt or scared or happy.

One thought I kept coming back to while rereading this quote is the fact that my little human, on the verge of being one year old, is capable of understanding such a big concept. As a matter of fact, she does it a lot better than most adults do. It is hard to be vulnerable and share, for sure, but when we look at a baby who is almost a year old and the pure, innocent, and friendly ways in which she shares, we can learn to live by her example. She amazes me all the time. Being herself is the greatest gift she has ever given to me.

Photo via Pinterest –

fbff996743b8221ae10ff2370bf07bdb

Leave a Reply

