writing on motherhood || my unplanned pregnancy taught me to ‘let go’

Asa and I got pregnant on our honeymoon. It wasn’t part of our plan and it especially wasn’t our plan to have children so soon after marriage. But God had another direction for us. I won’t hesitate to admit that in the beginning there were a LOT of tears and a LOT of anger, regret, and fear. Thankfully, those feelings turned into acceptance, patience, trust, and love.

Knowing what we do now, we wouldn’t have changed a thing about what happened. Occasionally, there are times when I think of what our life and our marriage might have been like had we been able to have more time alone, just the two of us. But in the end, I always come to the same conclusion: I can’t imagine life without Vienna around. Had we not gotten pregnant so soon, we would not have had the opportunity for growth in our marriage or our selves. Truly, we are very grateful to have been blessed with our little girl and everything (good, bad, or otherwise) that came along with the journey.

I shared more of this story with Mother.ly (if you recall my previous post), so please continue reading more of this story about my unplanned pregnancy here.

Leave a Reply

