halfway through with baby number two


Here we are, twenty weeks into the pregnancy with baby number two. I can’t believe that we will be meeting our second babe so soon! My first pregnancy felt slow; perhaps because it was new and foreign to me or because the first few months of the pregnancy were during the holiday season and I was more focused on those events.

This pregnancy has definitely been different than my first, but overall, manageable. There have been times when I’ve forgotten that I was pregnant! I would often think, “If I can just feel the baby kick then I will know this is all for real and things are all right!” Now that the baby is kicking, I don’t think I can forget again!

I’ve also been more irritable this pregnancy, but that might have to do with the fact that I’m running around after a toddler as well. I just keep praying for patience each day and am focusing on the good moments throughout the day 🙂

So, since I am this far along, I wanted to give everyone an update on how things have been going since my announcement/update post and where we are now:

– As I mentioned briefly in the post above, we have decided to work with a midwife and plan for a home birth. In reality, this decision was made long ago after our daughter’s birth. We knew then that if we could make it work financially we wanted to have a home birth for our next child(ren). We are so grateful that we are able to move forward with this decision. I’m so excited about it! I can’t wait to welcome our baby into the world and into our home.

I recently checked out a couple of books on the subject of home birth from the library in hopes to gain more knowledge about the whole process. Though I am familiar with this subject matter already, I’m sure there is a lot more that I could learn and I am eager to do so.

– Again this time around, we are choosing not to find out the sex of the baby. We didn’t find out when I was pregnant with our daughter and it was so fun! It was such a wonderful surprise at the birth to discover who had been living in my womb for ten months! You can read more about that first birth experience here.

It’s against the norm these days to go this route, but I wouldn’t do it any other way. When we tell people that we aren’t finding out the sex we are usually met with responses like, “Oh that’s so great!” or “I could never do that!” It may seem strange, but I’ve never found myself eager to know the sex before the birth. I just feel like it isn’t something that I need to know. I just need to know that the baby is safe and healthy. And this is coming from an impatient, anxious person who needs to know and control everything!

– At seventeen weeks I felt those first little baby kicks. Isn’t feeling the baby kick for the first time just the strangest and most magical thing? It certainly relieves some of the anxieties of the first trimester. I’m excited to feel them throughout the day knowing that the baby is doing well.

– So far we haven’t been prepping too much for the baby’s arrival. We didn’t do much prep when I was pregnant with Vienna either, but this time around we have even less to do. We have a lot of gender-neutral clothing items on hand already [one positive about us not finding out the sex of our children and preferring gender-neutral clothes…we don’t have to buy as many the next time around ;)] as well as toys and some “gear.” Maybe it’s just because of the way I have been feeling throughout this pregnancy, but I’m not stressing or super excited to gather items…yet. Maybe in a couple of months once that nesting itch strikes then I’ll be rushing to get things prepared 🙂

img_1083

Well, I think that’s about all for an update! Follow along on Instagram for more “daily” updates. And as always, I welcome your questions and comments so don’t hesitate to reach out!

Until next time! xx

4 thoughts on “halfway through with baby number two

  1. herhappylittleworld says:

    Great post! I’m always so impressed by people who have the patience to wait until their due date to find out the gender. 😋 I have zero patience.

    Like

  2. AsaT says:

    “Halfway? Whoa, you got me halfway!”

    Lovely little post! You are so lovely, Meg, just look at those photographs. Beautiful. Way to go, carrying the babe and caring for our other little pea; you’re doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

