natural play dough

Original recipe can be found here on Homesong

Making natural play dough has been on my list for awhile because I don’t like the manufactured product. I was also waiting to make play dough because I didn’t own any essential oils. But we recently purchased a starter kit from Young Living (yay!) so now I’m excited to make use of them as much as I can.

This recipe is going to be great to have on hand for times when we’re stuck indoors or need a quick activity, as it takes about 10 minutes to make. I love that the recipe calls for very few ingredients and especially that they are ones I am familiar with and always have stocked in my pantry.

I altered Amanda’s recipe just a bit to accommodate what we have on hand at the moment, but the recipe turned out well and yielded quite a bit of dough – more than I thought! I could probably make half a batch and it would be sufficient (because it doesn’t keep forever and I don’t want to waste ingredients). Next time I hope to use cream of tartar and food coloring as Amanda suggests.

Natural play dough recipe:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1 tablespoon oil (I used EVOO)
  • Small spoonful of cocoa powder (used for coloring. I started out with a small amount but definitely could have used more. I also thought about adding oats for texture)
  • 5 drops of lavender essential oil (or whichever scent you want)

To prepare, combine water, oil, salt and cocoa powder in a saucepan. Heat until warm but not boiling. Once warmed, remove from heat and add to flour. Stir and knead until dough is smooth. Roll out flat on the counter then add drops of essential oil to the surface of the dough. Knead again until everything is incorporated. Store play dough in airtight container such as a Ball jar.

Happy playtime! xx

One thought on “natural play dough

Leave a Reply

